Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Latest News | Categories | Authors | News Archives

News & Features

The 119th Ojai
Gupta Captures Prestigious Boys CIF Title at The Ojai

OJAI, Calif. - Aditya Gupta wasn’t sure if he wanted to play high school tennis this year. Most of his peers decided to focus on higher-level training, and Gupta contemplated doing the same.

But one tournament enticed Gupta because of its rich tradition. The Ojai was a title Gupta wanted to pursue.

Senior Aditya Gupta Won The Boys CIF Title at The Ojai

The blue chip senior knew about the past legends who have graced the courts at Libbey Park, and wanted to add his face to the picture boards dotting the oak-strewn park entrance alongside the likes of Arthur Ashe, Tracy Austin, Stan Smith Billie Jean King, Lindsay Davenport, Pete Sampras and Bob and Mike Bryan.

Gupta earned his place in history by capturing the prestigious California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) Boys 18s singles title at the 119th Ojai Tennis Tournament last Saturday night. The top seed from University High (Irvine, California) rallied to beat Newbury Park High four-star senior Wally Thayne 4-6, 6-3, 6-2 in the final.

After securing the final point of the match, Gupta was awarded the Farnam Cup, which is the oldest of The Ojai trophies, having been first presented in 1902.

“It really means a lot to win this title because it has so much history,” said Gupta, who has committed to Penn. “More people show up to this tournament than normal tournaments. The whole town kind of comes out to watch this, which is great.

This Article Is Available Only to Recruiting Advantage members
Please log in to access premium TennisRecruiting.net content.
Register Now For Free!
  • Content Updated Daily
  • Complete Rank Lists
  • Exclusive Articles
  • Recruit Interviews
It's Quick, Easy, and Free!

Hypercourt Supreme | Own The Court
Introducing the new Hypercourt Supreme tennis shoe, designed for a young or adult competitive player looking for explosive speed. Available today on K-Swiss.com!
1/20 Nikolai Dammholz chooses Amherst
1/20 Lauren Gottberg chooses Concordia (NE)
1/20 Imani Ghosh chooses Johns Hopkins
1/20 Ryan Mignerey chooses Wartburg
1/19 Landon Gibson chooses Grace (IN)
1/19 Nicholas Herdoiza chooses Northwestern
1/19 Jake Grimes chooses Rider
1/19 Austin Skoog chooses Presbyterian
1/19 Emma Persson chooses Missouri State
1/19 Gavin Sohn chooses UMSL

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits


Page updated on Monday, January 17, 2022
Contact our web team with any corrections