Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Team Directory | Conference Maps | News Wire | Class Rankings | Advanced Search  

Team Information

Hillsborough Community College Men | Women

Conference:Region 8
Location:Tampa, FL
Head Coach:Jennifer Gelhaus
Assistant Coach:Sarah Summerfield
Institution Type:Public
Student Population:11,000+
Top Mid-Major Classes: #24 in 2008

Conference Highlights
2006 FCCAA State Tournament Runner Up
2007 FCCAA State Tournament Champions
2008 FCCAA State Tournament Champions
2009 FCCAA State Tournament Champions
2010 FCCAA State Tournament Champions
Post Season Highlights
2006 NJCAA National Runners-Up
2007 NJCAA National Runners-Up
2009 NJCAA National Runners-Up
2010 Third Place
Tournament Highlights
2005 Regional Champion (doubles) and finalist (singles)

2005 and 2006 ITA Small College Championships Super Bowl Finalists (doubles)

2005 and 2006 ITA Small College Doubles Champion (JUCO)

2005 and 2006 ITA Junior College Singles Finalist (JUCO)

2006 C.L Varner Champion (singles)

2006 ITA Regional Champions (singles and doubles)

2007 Regional Champion (singles)

2007 ITA Small College Championships
3rd place in both singles and doubles

2008 ITA Regional Singles and Doubles Champion

2009 NJCAA Flight 1 and 2 Singles Champion, Flight 1 Doubles Champion

ITA Regional Champion (Singles and Doubles)

ITA Small College National Champion (Singles and Doubles)
Individual Achievements
ITA Rookie of the Year: Hiroko Nishikawa (2005)
Jillian O'Neill (2009)

ITA Player of the Year: Hiroko Nishikawa (2006), Olivia Howlett (2010)

ITA National Champions:
Hiroko Nishikawa (2005 Doubles, 2006 Doubles)
Amanda Yogus (2005 Doubles)
Mizuho Nishimura (2006 Doubles)
Olivia Howlett (2008 Singles, 2009 Doubles)
Jillian O'Neill (2009 Singles, 2009 Doubles)

ITA All Americans:
Hiroko Nishikawa (2005 and 2006)
Amanda Yogus (2005)
Mizuho Nishimura (2006)
Nachell Proctor (2007 and 2010)
Jillian O'Neill (2009)
Olivia Howlett (2009 and 2010)

NJCAA All-Americans Singles:
Hiroko Nishikawa (2006 and 2007 2nd Team)
Amanda Yogus(2006 Honorable Mention,2007 2nd Team)
Alba Passanisi(2006 Honorable Mention,2007 2nd Team)
Chelsea Best (2006 Honorable Mention, 2007 2nd Team)
Ginifer Hartman (2006 Honorable Mention)
Eva Sambrano (2007 Honorable Mention)
Eva Sabrano (2008 1st Team)
Jillian O'Neill (2009 1st Team)
Olivia Howlett (2009 and 2010 1st Team)
Nachell Proctor (2010 2nd Team)

NJCAA All American Doubles:
Hiroko Nishikawa (2006 and 2007 Second Team)
Mizuho Nishimura (2006 1st Team, 2007 2nd Team)
Amanda Yogus (2006 2nd Team)
Alba Passanisi (2006 1st Team, 2007 2nd Team)
Katherine Laine (2008 1st Team)
Eva Sambrano (2008 1st Team)
Jillian O'Neill (2009 1st Team)
Olivia Howlett (2009)

FCCAA Player of the Year: Hiroko Nishikwa (2006 and 2007)
Jillian O'Neill (2009)
Olivia Howlett (201)

HCC Student-Athlete of the Year: Hiroko Nishikawa (2006)
Courtney Spafford (2010)

Vicki Schnurr Academic Excellence Award (GPA):

Alba Passanisi (2006) with a 4.0 GPA
Hiroko Nishikawa (2007) with a 4.0 GPA
Coaching Achievements
2007 FCCAA Coach of the Year
2008 FCCAA Coach of the Year
2008 Region IV Coach of the Year
2008 NJCAA National Coach of the Tournament
2009 Region IV Coach of the Year
Campus Showdowns are one-day, short-format tournaments open to juniors, college players, professionals, and adults. These events give junior players a chance to compete against college competition on a college campus.
Click here for a complete Showdown Schedule

Page updated on Tuesday, April 07, 2020 at 5:53:42 AM
Contact our web team with any corrections